Opioid Crisis Across America
Did you know that there’s currently on ongoing national emergency regarding the sale of prescription drugs?
In October of 2017, President Trump issued a national emergency over the ongoing opioid crisis. Opioids are all drugs that are derived from the opium plant, which includes prescription painkillers. Anyone who is caught illegally distributing prescription pills could face serious penalties in New Jersey. It’s illegal to even possess a prescription drug without a valid prescription.
What Does “Selling” Prescription Drugs Mean?
When a licensed doctor prescribes medication to you, it’s meant to be taken by only you. It’s a crime to share your prescription medicine with anyone else. Even if someone else you know has a similar problem, they need to see a health care provider to get their own prescription pills. It’s not acceptable to sell your prescription or share it under any circumstances at all. Similarly, doctors or health care providers could face charges when they prescribe more medication than the patient actually needs. Physicians who are tasked with filling prescriptions can also get charged with a crime when they fill out a prescription that is invalid.
Penalties for Distributing Prescriptions in New Jersey
The penalty you’ll face for possessing prescriptions drugs depends on how much you had and whether authorities believe you were planning on distributing them. Possessing pills without a prescription will result in a disorderly persons charge. Similarly, you could face a disorderly person’s charge if you have a valid prescription for a certain medication, but you aren’t carrying it in the original container. The only exception to this rule is when you have less than a ten-day supply and you are carrying the name and address of the pharmacist or doctor who prescribed the medication with you. A conviction of this crime may result in up to six months in jail and fines up to $1,000.
If the police believe you were planning on distributing the pills, then you could be convicted of a fourth-degree crime. Here are a few penalties you could be subject to:
- 18 months in jail
- Fines up to $10,000
If you are a first-time offender, then it’s possible that you could get your penalties reduced. Sometimes, courts will allow first-time offenders to go to pretrial intervention, which would eventually result in a dismissal of your charges.
Contact an Experienced Hamilton Drug Defense Attorney About Your Prescription Pill Crime Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a drug-related offense in New Jersey? A drug crime conviction can carry with it heavy fines, jail time, and driver’s license suspension! That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified drug defense lawyer about your case. The Law Offices of Lauren E. Scardella represents clients charged with use, possession, production, distribution, and related drug offenses in Hamilton, Camden, Trenton, and throughout New Jersey. Call (609) 250-9761 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office located at 2653 Nottingham Way Suite 1, Hamilton, NJ 08619.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.