New Jersey Cocaine Possession and Distribution Attorney
Seasoned New Jersey Cocaine Possession and Distribution Attorney Fighting For Clients Facing Possession Charges In Mercer County, Middlesex County, Monmouth County, and Throughout South Jersey
Cocaine possession in New Jersey is considered a serious crime. Being found guilty of simply being in possession of even a small amount of cocaine can result in imprisonment of up to 5 years and a fine of up to $350,000. If you want to avoid a conviction or receive a less severe punishment, you will need to be represented by an experienced and knowledgeable New Jersey Cocaine possession and distribution attorney.
The attorneys at Aydelotte and Scardella Law LLC are skilled attorneys with years of experience in successfully representing clients charged with possession and distribution of cocaine. Our attorneys will assess the circumstances of your case and craft a strategic approach to your defense. We will work to protect your legal rights and fight for your freedom. Our attorneys will work to get the charges reduced or dismissed and ensure the best possible outcome for your case.
Types of Charges that an Experienced New Jersey Cocaine Possession and Distribution Attorney can Help Defend Against
The laws governing cocaine possession and distribution in New Jersey are quite complex. If you don’t understand the charges you are facing, you could end up with a conviction that will have long-term consequences on your life. You may also face unwarranted and severe punishment. It is therefore important to seek the guidance and representation of a seasoned New Jersey cocaine possession and distribution attorney. The attorneys at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC will help you understand your legal rights and the options available to you.
There are several different ways that possession in New Jersey can be categorized:
- Direct possession – This refers to a situation where you were found to have had the cocaine on your person. The cocaine may have been in your pocket, backpack, or in your house, car, or other property.
- Constructive possession – This refers to a situation whereby cocaine is found in a location where there are several people present such as in a house with several occupants. In these cases, it is unclear who was in direct possession of the cocaine. You can be charged with constructive possession of cocaine if you knew the cocaine was present and had the intention and ability to take control of the drug.
- Joint possession – This refers to a situation where the control or ownership of the cocaine is shared. For example, if two or more people were found to be purchasing or using cocaine together.
Possession with Intent to Distribute Cocaine
If you were found to be in possession of cocaine, you may be charged with ‘possession with intent to distribute cocaine.’ In New Jersey, the penalties for a conviction will depend on the amount of cocaine that you were found to be in possession of.
- If you were found with less than 0.5 oz of cocaine, you will be charged with a third degree crime. The penalty for this includes up to 5 years of prison and fines not exceeding $75,000.
- If you were found to be in possession of between 0.5 and 5 oz of cocaine you will be charged with a second degree crime. The penalties may include imprisonment of up to 10 years and fines not exceeding $150,000.
- If you were found with 5 oz or more of cocaine, you will be charged with a first degree crime. You will face the possibility of between 10 and 20 years of imprisonment and fines not exceeding $500,000.
The penalties for possession with intent to distribute cocaine also depend on the location you were arrested. If you were arrested within 1000 feet of school property (i.e. a school zone), a conviction will result in a mandatory minimum prison term of 3 years or up to a half of the sentence the court gives you depending on which is greater. You will not be eligible for parole during this period. If you were arrested within 500 feet of a public park or housing project, you will be charged with a separate second degree offense.
Contact Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC to consult with a Top-Rated New Jersey Cocaine Possession and Distribution Attorney
Have you been found in possession of cocaine? Whether it was found in your car, home, or backpack, being charged with cocaine possession and distribution is serious. The penalties for this crime are serious. You will need the assistance of a skilled and knowledgeable New Jersey cocaine possession and distribution attorney.
Contact Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC to consult with an experienced and knowledgeable attorney. Our attorneys have years of experience in defending people charged with possession of cocaine. We will assess your case and develop an effective strategy to get the case dismissed or have the charges reduced.
Get in touch with us now to schedule your appointment.
Frequently Asked Questions about Cocaine Possession and Distribution in New Jersey
New Jersey police officers must have probable cause or a search warrant to search you or your property for cocaine. A police officer may only search you and your property if they have probable cause to believe that you have committed a crime. An immediate search may also be carried out in the presence of exigent circumstances such as the possibility of the drug evidence disappearing if the police officers have to wait for the issuing of a warrant.
Yes. Cocaine possession is taken very seriously in New Jersey and classified as a felony under the State’s criminal code. The amount of cocaine found in your possession has no bearing on the charges. You will be charged with a third degree felony if you are found to be in possession of any amount of cocaine. A conviction for cocaine possession can result in a maximum of 5 years of imprisonment and a fine of up to $35,000.