Trenton Gun Charges Criminal Defense Lawyers
Skilled Criminal Defense Lawyers Represent Clients Charged With Firearms Offenses In Mercer County, Middlesex County, and Monmouth County, New Jersey
Charged with a gun offense in New Jersey? This state not only has some of the strictest gun laws in the country; New Jersey also has some of the harshest penalties for gun-related offenses. Even a minor violation of the rules regarding obtaining a gun permit can bring serious penalties that can have a significant impact on your life. Unfortunately, many gun owners are not aware of the specifics of New Jersey’s gun laws and that can be very costly.
The firearm offense lawyers at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC have in-depth knowledge of New Jersey’s gun laws and share more than 18 years of criminal defense experience. Our skilled criminal defense team is dedicated to advocating on behalf of New Jersey residents who have been charged with gun offenses and we fight tirelessly on your behalf. If you already own a gun, are thinking of buying a gun, or are currently facing a firearm offense in the state of New Jersey, it is critical that you understand your rights under the law.
Importance Of Understanding The Laws Regarding Gun Ownership In New Jersey
New Jersey’s gun laws are very strict and it is important to understand all of the state’s laws regarding gun ownership. The state of New Jersey requires that all gun owners have a valid permit. Individuals who are interested in purchasing a firearm must apply for a Permit to Purchase a Handgun and/or a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card through their local police department. In the absence of a local police department, an individual may submit their application for a Permit to Purchase a Handgun or a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card with the New Jersey State Police station covering their municipality.
In New Jersey, the following firearms require a valid permit:
- BB guns
- Pellet gun
The state of New Jersey mandates a 30-day waiting period for handguns for residents and a 45-day waiting period for non-residents.
If you are interested in becoming a gun owner or already own a firearm, it is important to understand the regulations surrounding gun ownership in New Jersey as penalties are stiff for any violations. If you have been charged with a firearm offense — whether that pertains to your permit or use of your firearm — contact the experienced criminal defense attorneys at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC.
Experienced Criminal Defense Team Protects The Rights Of Those Charged With Firearm Offenses In New Jersey
The state of New Jersey prohibits the sale and ownership of several types of firearms, including
sawed-off shotguns, stun guns, silencers, defaced firearms, imitation firearms that are intended for unlawful use, armor-penetrating bullets, and machine guns or assault firearms if unlicensed.
In New Jersey, anyone under the age of 18 years is prohibited from owning a firearm. It is illegal to own a gun in New Jersey if you have been convicted of any of the following offenses:
- Aggravated assault
- Aggravated sexual assault
- Sexual assault
New Jersey also prohibits anyone that is drug dependent from owning a firearm. Individuals who have a physical condition that makes it unsafe for the person to handle a firearm are also prohibited from owning a gun. Individuals who have been committed for a mental disorder are prohibited from owning a gun unless it can be demonstrated that the person no longer suffers from a disorder that handicaps or interferes with the individual in handling a firearm.
Laws regarding firearms in New Jersey are complicated and the penalties are strict for any violation, no matter how minor the violation may seem. If you or a loved one has been arrested on a firearm offense, contact the skilled criminal defense lawyers at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC as soon as possible so that we can begin building your defense.
Charged With A Firearm Offense In New Jersey? Don’t Leave the Outcome Of Your Case to Chance
When you are charged with a firearm offense in the state of New Jersey, it is a serious matter. And the outcome is only as good as your legal defense. Don’t take chances with your future; hire an experienced, knowledgeable criminal defense attorney. At Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC, our skilled firearm offense lawyers share more than 18 years of experience with a record of successful outcomes. We provide compassionate counsel, personal attention to each case, and a strategic, winning defense of the charges you are facing.
Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC offers a free initial consultation so that you can get answers to your questions regarding the gun charges brought against you and make the most informed decision possible in your situation. To schedule your confidential consultation, contact our office.
Frequently Asked Questions About Gun Laws and Firearm Offenses In New Jersey
Yes. Anyone interested in purchasing a gun in the state of New Jersey must be over 18 years of age.
New Jersey’s Graves Act is legislation regarding firearm offenses. If you are found guilty under the Graves Act, it is a second degree offense. The Graves Act imposes a mandatory prison sentence for anyone charged with unlawful possession of a handgun, rifle, or shotgun. Any individual who commits a certain crime while they are in possession of a firearm — including a handgun, shotgun, or rifle — will also face mandatory prison time if they are convicted. First offenders under the Graves Act face jail time of between five and ten years. And parole is restricted under the Graves Act — you must serve a minimum three-year sentence.
No. New Jersey does not recognize gun carry permits issued by another state.