Dependable, Experienced, Knowledgeable

Multiple DUI

   Schedule a consultation

Multiple DUI Lawyers in Hamilton, NJ

Experienced DUI Lawyers Defend Clients Charged With Multiple DUI Offenses In Mercer County, Middlesex County, and Monmouth County, New Jersey

Did you know that, in New Jersey, you can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs even if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is below the legal limit of 0.08 percent or more? If your driving is impaired, it doesn’t matter how much alcohol you have consumed, or the amount of drugs — illegal, prescription, or over-the-counter — in your body. You can still face a charge of driving under the influence.

When you already have a DUI conviction on your record, any subsequent DUI offense will have a significant impact on your life. At Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC, our experienced multiple DUI lawyers protect the rights of those who have been charged with multiple DUI, and we prepare an aggressive defense of the charges brought against you. 

Our criminal defense attorneys share more than 18 years’ combined experience, have in-depth knowledge in the handling of multiple DUI charges, and are also certified in New Jersey standardized field sobriety testing. We offer a free initial consultation with a member of our team so that you can make the most informed decision regarding your DUI case.

New Jersey Places Stiff Penalties For Multiple DUI Offenses 

New Jersey places stiff penalties for individuals convicted of driving while intoxicated and these penalties become more serious with each subsequent offense. The penalties for second and third DUI offenses in New Jersey are as follows:

Penalties for a Second DUI Offense In New Jersey 

If you are convicted of a second DUI offense within 10 years of your first DUI conviction, you face the following penalties in New Jersey:

  • Imprisonment for a period of 48 consecutive hours to 90 days 
  • Suspension of drivers’ license for one to two years
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for the duration of the license suspension plus two to four years after the drivers’ license has been restored
  • 30 days of community service 
  • Fine of $500 – $1,000 
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,000 a year for three years 
  • Must complete the IDRC evaluation, referral, and program requirements 
  • Judges may order that your vehicle registration be revoked

Penalties for a Third DUI Offense In New Jersey 

If you are convicted of a third DUI offense within 10 years of your second DUI conviction, you face the following penalties in New Jersey:

  • Drivers’ license suspension for eight years
  • 180 days’ imprisonment. The court may make an exception to this length of time and reduce the term for each day that is served in an IDRC-approved drug or alcohol inpatient rehabilitation program — but not to exceed 90 days
  • 30 days of community service
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for the duration of the license suspension plus two to four years after the license has been restored
  • Satisfactory completion of the IDRC evaluation, referral, and program requirements 
  • An automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 a year for three years
  • Fine of $1,000
  • Judges may order that your vehicle registration be revoked

Additional charges for all New Jersey DUI offenses

In New Jersey, all DUI offenses also bring additional monetary charges, including the following:

  • A $100 surcharge to the Drunk Driving Enforcement Fund 
  • Motor Vehicle Commission restoration fee of $100 
  • A $100 Intoxicated Driving Program fee 
  • A $50 Violent Crimes Compensation Fund fee
  • A $75 Safe and Secure Community Program fee

Marijuana DUI

It is illegal in New Jersey to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of a narcotic, including marijuana. A charge of DUI for marijuana can be proven based on observational evidence.

Talented Criminal Defense Attorneys Share More Than 18 Years Of Combined Experience Protecting The Rights Of Those Charged With Multiple DUIs  

At Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC, our multiple DUI lawyers understand the impact a driving under the influence (DUI) charge can have on your life. And when you are facing a second or third DUI offense, the prospect of facing harsher penalties can be daunting. While a DUI charge is a serious offense, this is not a time to panic. Consult with an experienced DUI attorney who can advise you of the next best steps in your case.

The talented criminal defense attorneys at Aydelotte & Scardella Law LLC share more than 18 years’ combined experience protecting the rights of those charged with DUI. We offer a free initial consultation. Learn more about the services we provide and how we can help secure a positive outcome in your DUI case. Schedule your free confidential consultation with our office today.

Frequently Asked Questions About Multiple DUI Offenses In New Jersey

FAQ: I was charged with a DUI and I had a minor in the car with me at the time. Is there an additional penalty?

In New Jersey, any parent or guardian who is convicted of driving under the influence (DUI) at the same time that they had a passenger under 17 years of age in the car can also be charged with a disorderly persons offense or even the indictable (felony) charge of Endangering the Welfare of a Child. If you were charged with DUI and had a minor in the vehicle at the time, contact our office to schedule a free consultation regarding your case.

FAQ: What is “implied consent”?

Under a state’s “Implied consent” laws, when you apply for and receive a drivers’ license, you consent to submit to field sobriety tests should you be pulled over by law enforcement under suspicion of driving under the influence (DUI) of alcohol or drugs. And while law enforcement officers cannot force you to submit to a field sobriety test, there are consequences for not submitting. Penalties for refusing to submit are based on whether this is your first, second, or third refusal offense.

Client reviews

“I felt very comfortable & confident that Lauren was able to get the job done.”

“Lauren kept me informed from the beginning to the end. She responded to emails and texts quickly. She was great to work with.”

“Lauren is so friendly. She clearly explained the process and answered all my questions. She is on time and quickly closes my matter in court. Glad that I chose her as my attorney luckily.”

   Read more client reviews
Award
Award
Award
Award
Award